pw-team-christina

Christina Abou Rouphaël

Researcher

Christina is an architect and urban researcher who graduated with a Master’s degree in Architecture (2015) and Urban Planning (2017) from the Faculty of Architecture and Fine Arts of the Lebanese University. She is currently working on various research projects related to urban issues, public property and the right to the city.

Buildings Collapse in Lebanon

It is difficult to be surprised today by the collapse of buildings around the Lebanese territory, being aware of the amount of legal and material factors that have weakened and destabilized their structure, …

Five Factors that Contributed to the Deterioration of the Urban Environment in Lebanon

This text highlights Lebanon’s urgent issue of severe physical degradation in its urban environment, with over 18,000 buildings at risk of collapse, particularly in Beirut and Tripoli. It attributes urban decay to a …

The Construction Sector in Lebanon: How Neoliberal Urbanization Destroys the Environment

Lebanon faces a multitude of environmental threats, primarily driven by a neoliberal approach to urbanization. This approach prioritizes short-term private economic gains in the construction industry and associated businesses, including a dominant cement …

How can land and property taxes in Lebanon be fair?

The tax system plays a critical role in the social contract between the state and society, with individuals contributing taxes in exchange for the state’s commitment to societal well-being. However, recent global tax …

The Black Cloud over Kfour town:

How Urban Planning Produces an Environmental Disaster.

Twelve years ago, the suffering of the people of Kfour town began. In the town, located within Nabatieh District, factories and plants of all kinds are spread, from quarries, stone mills, asphalt plants, …

The 2023 Israeli War:

Fates of Residents and Confrontation Paths in Lebanon

The region is currently experiencing an extended war, from the West Bank, where people are killed, imprisoned, and their homes occupied, to Gaza, facing various forms of destruction—humanitarian, environmental, urban, psychological, etc.  Lebanon, …

Understanding the Right to the City and How Authorities Violate It

This article aims to analyze laws enacted by the Lebanese authorities between 2019 and 2022 in relation to the right to the city, which encompasses the right to housing, work, and other essential …

Guide to Community Work at the Local Level

This research examines the role of local community organizing in relation to the theory of change and spatial justice within the context of Lebanon. It explores both the theoretical and practical aspects of …

Housing-Designated Lands:

The State Had Housing Projects

In this article, we focus on the state-owned lands designated for housing. Understanding the nature of these properties, their location, and their current uses is essential when discussing any solutions to the ongoing …

Tripoli: The Nakba of Unfinished Housing Projects

In this article, we focus on the state-owned lands that have been historically designated for housing in the cities of Tripoli and Mina (North Lebanon). First, we examine the multiple types of state …

The Reclassification of Public State Property, a Tool to Fulfill the Desires of the Powerful

ينتشر اليوم خطاب واسع ويطغى، مسوّقاً لخصخَصة الأملاك العامة كوسيلةٍ لإنقاذ الدولة من الإفلاس. هذه الأملاك هي جزء أساسي من محفظة أصول لبنان العامة...

Mapping State-Owned Land Against Privatization

In light of the ongoing financial and economic collapse, mainstream public discourse called for the privatization of public assets, to save the state from bankruptcy, through a fund enabling banks to seize state-owned …

pw-team-christina

كريستينا أبو روفايل

باحثة

كريستينا، معماريّة وباحثة حضريّة، حاصلة على ماجستير في الهندسة المعمارية (2015) وفي التخطيط المديني (2017) من الجامعة اللبنانية، كلية العمارة والفنون الجميلة. تعمل حالياً على مشاريع بحثية متنوعة مرتبطة بالقضايا العمرانية، الأملاك العامة وغيرها من المواضيع المتعلّقة بالحقّ في المدينة.

سحابة “الكفور” السوداء:

كيف ينتج التنظيم المديني كارثة بيئية

في 24 آب 2023، استفاق سكان بلدة الكفور في النبطية، وقد خرجت رياح سوداء من معامل تذويب الإطارات في بلدتهم وغطّت أراضيهم، محاصيلهم، أشجارهم، شوارعهم، باحات منازلهم، بيوتهم، مؤنتهم وأجسادهم باللون الأسود. وخلال …

الحرب الإسرائيلية 2023:

مصائر الأهالي ومسارات المواجهة في لبنان

يستعيد الجنوبيون في لبنان اليوم تجارب يوميات أليمة من قلب ذاكرتهن\م الجماعية المطبوعة بالحروب الإسرائيلية المتكرّرة.وهم كثيراً ما واجهوا تداعيات هذه الحروب وحدهم، لا لشيء إلّا نتيجة الفصل التاريخي الحاصل بين الجنوب\مناطق المواجهة …

الحق في المدينة: ما هو وكيف تنتهكه السلطة؟

لماذا ندافع عن حق الناس باستخدام المجال العام وتغييره حتى؟ كيف نفهم حقّ من تبني بيتاً يأويها على أرض لا تمتلكها؟ لماذا يملك صاحب البسطة الحق في مدّها على الرصيف؟  لا يمكن أن …

ماذا تعرف\ين عن مشروع ترميم حوالي 30 مبنى تراثي في المناطق المتضررة

دليل السكان حول مشروع تأهيل؟

غابت الدولة عن الأحياء المتضررة منذ لحظة التفجير، وخلق غياب المعلومات وتضاربها والتجارب القديمة السيئة مع مشاريع إعادة الإعمار، قلقاً لدى السكان وريبةً من كل الجهات العاملة في هذه الأحياء. اليوم، تُطلق الUN-Habitat  …

دليل العمل المجتمعي على المستوى المحلي

مقدمة: لماذا هذا الدليل؟ عام 2018، وفي قلب الانتفاضة السودانية، رُفِع شعار “الثورة نقابة ولجنة حي”. على الرغم من اختلاف السياقات حينها، ومن ازدياد صعوبة التنظيم حالياً، وجد هذا الشعار صداه عندنا، في …

عن واقع المخيمات الفلسطينية في لبنان

فصولٌ من الإقصاء والعزل

لسنين مضت، تستخدم السلطة في لبنان عملية قضم الحقوق المكانية للاجئات\ين الفلسطينيين في لبنان، كأسلوبٍ ممنهج لـ “تطفيشهم”، علّ حياةً غير عادلةٍ أو مريحةٍ في لبنان تجعلهن\م يهاجرون. والهجرة هنا لا تعني العودة …

الأراضي المخصّصة للسكن:

كان للدولة مشاريعَ سكنية

اليوم، تظهر أهمية تأمين المسكن للعدد الأكبر من الناس، في ظل غياب أي نقاش حول هذه الموضوع، أو طرح تطرحه الدولة يبيّن ولو اهتمامها لما يجري كل يوم من تهجير وإخلاءات. لكن غياب …

طرابلس: نكبة مشاريع إسكان غير مكتملة

سنة ١٩٧٦، انتقل خالد وعائلته إلى المساكن الشعبية التي شكّلت له ملجأً ومأوىً بعد هربه من مجزرة تلّ الزعتر. نمت عائلته مع الوقت وبغياب قدرته على شراء منزل ثانٍ، أُجبر على الانتقال مرةً …

إسقاط الأملاك العمومية أداة لتحقيق رغبات الحكّام

ينتشر اليوم خطاب واسع ويطغى، مسوّقاً لخصخَصة الأملاك العامة كوسيلةٍ لإنقاذ الدولة من الإفلاس. هذه الأملاك هي جزء أساسي من محفظة أصول لبنان العامة، وقد تفوق قيمتها قيمة الأصول الأخرى مُجتمعة – كما …

وينيّ (أراضي) الدولة؟

دليل بحثي في مواجهة خطر الخصخصة

في ظلّ الانهيار المالي والاقتصادي المستمرّ، تجلّى خطاب يدعو إلى خصخَصة أملاك الدولة كوسيلةٍ لإنقاذها من الإفلاس، وذلك من خلال اقتراحات بإنشاء صندوق يمكّن المصارف من وضع اليد على أصول الدولة المختلفة، من …

وينيّ (أراضي) الدولة؟

دليل بحثي في مواجهة خطر الخصخصة

بحثٍ معمّق عن أملاك الدولة العقارية، تلك الأملاك التي تكوّن بيئتنا الطبيعية، وتشكّل مصدر رزق وسكنٍ لشريحة واسعة من الناس، وترتبط مباشرةً بطُرق حياتنا ومعيشتنا المتنوّعة على امتداد المناطق اللبنانية.

طرابلس: من سلب منّا الأرض؟

سنعرض من خلال ثلاث مقالات، موجزاً لكيفية تعاطي السلطات مع طرابلس النهرية وطرابلس البحرية (أي مدينة المينا، كما يسمّيها أهلها)، وتداعيات ذلك على أحيائها من النواحي المدينية والسكنية والبيئية. تستند المقالات إلى ورشة …