Informality

How Urbanization is an issue of climate Justice

The fight against climate change often centers on shifting to renewable energy sources and reducing carbon pollution—two needed actions which cannot be worthwhile unless we reconsider the whole way in which we are …

Collapse in al-Meselmani building in al-‘Hayy al-Gharbi:

10 families were displaced

Part of the Al-Meselmani building, in Al-’Hayy al-Gharbi extending between Chatila Camp and the Sports Stadium, collapsed on Saturday morning. As a result, ten families who had lived in the building for about …

About Ein el-Hilweh Camp

Yesterday in Ein el-Hilweh camp, and today in Gaza, Palestinians lose their land and neighborhoods for different reasons, with occupation and displacement serving as the common thread that binds their struggles. This article …

Legitimate Housing or the Right to Dwell?:

Pubilc Housing and their Informal Transformations in Saida and Tripoli

Read the Arabic article here.

Another City Series: Housing Narratives

As we get to know the streets and alleys whose residents have witnessed significant changes in the architectural and social environment, we pose questions about heritage and the housing policies which have led …

Tripoli: The Nakba of Unfinished Housing Projects

In this article, we focus on the state-owned lands that have been historically designated for housing in the cities of Tripoli and Mina (North Lebanon). First, we examine the multiple types of state …

Residents Facing Land Consolidation and Parcellation Projects:

The Example of El-Tanak Neighborhood in Mina

In this article, our focus revolves around the Land Consolidation and Parcellation projects in the cities of Tripoli and Mina in North Lebanon. We examine their influence on the economic and urban identity …

Tripoli: Who Took Away Our Land?

In this series of articles, we investigate how the authorities handled the cases of both the riverine and maritime Tripoli (i.e., the Mina), and the implications of their policies on people’s housing rights, …

Ground to Dust: Systems of Extraction and the Search for Spatial Justice

This exhibition at Beirut Art Center is Public Works Studio’s first institutional presentation. Rather than approach the format of the exhibition with any kind of finality, PW has created a site as unstable …

May and June 2021

Read in Arabic here.

Tripoli: Who Took Away Our Land

Tripoli, also known as ”Al-Fayhaa”, is the second capital of Lebanon, the capital of the north. While these titles lead us to believe that Tripoli serves as a crucial economic and development center …

Dwellers in the Face of the State’s Exclusionary Policies

In the context of reading the urban transformations that Lebanon is witnessing as cross-border transformations generated by capitalist governments adopting neoliberal policies, and aiming to reshape neighborhoods and land into a commodity in …

أحياء غير رسمية

التغيير المناخي والسكن:

الأحياء المهمشة هي الأكثر تأثرًا

يَعِد التغيير المناخي بتغيير المواسم، ومناخ المناطق وأنماطه، حتى شكل الحياة التي نعرف. ونتيجةً لسيطرة النموذج الرأسمالي على الكوكب، ستؤثّر هذه التغييرات بالدرجة الأولى، على قدرة الناس على الوصول إلى الموارد وتأمين الأساسيات. …

كيف يكون العمران مسألة عدالة مناخية

إنّ مواجهة التغيير المناخي غالباً ما تركّز على التحوّل إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة والحدّ من التلوّث الكربوني – وهما إجراءان ضروريان، إنما دون جدوى ما لم نعيد النظر في السُبل التي نستغلّ من …

نحو قانون شامل للحق في السكن

أوراق بحثية حول إصلاحات ضرورية

غالباً ما تتردّد إشكالات السكن والإسكان في الخطاب العام اللبنانيّ منذ فترة الاستقلال على الأقل. لكنّها ازدادت حضوراً في العقود القليلة الماضية، بفعل مضاربات السوق التي تعمل في سياق يفتقر تماماً إلى سياسات …

انهيار في مبنى المسلماني في الحيّ الغربي:

١٠ عائلات تشرّدت

استفقنا نهار السبت على خبر انهيار آخر، هذه المرة في جزء من مبنى المسلماني، حارة عرسال في “الحيّ الغربي” الممتد بين مخيم شاتيلا والمدينة الرياضية. يتكوّن المبنى من طابق أرضي يحوي غرفتين، وطابق …

تاريخ تشكّل مخيم عين الحلوة وظلال الاشتباكات

هذا المقال جزء من سلسلة “المخيم والمدينة: أن نروي المناطق اللبنانية من منظور المخيّمات الفلسطينية” التي ينشر فيها استديو أشغال عامة مواداً حول المخيمات الفلسطينية في لبنان، لتشكّل ملفاً حول نشأتها، أحيائها وواقعها …

شرعية المساكن أم الحق بالسكن فيها؟

مشاريع سكنيّة وتحوّلاتها غير الرسمية في صيدا وطرابلس

۱.المقدمة المدن هي أماكن للتفاعل والتبادل بين أشخاص يختلفون حول معظم الأشياء. فالمدينة، بكثافتها وجاذبيتها المستمرة للوافدين الجدد والمهاجرين، تُشكّل نسيجاً من عدم التجانس، وهو نسيج قد يضمن “اللقاء مع الاختلاف” (ميتشل، ٢٠٠٣) …

نحنا التراث: مرويّات عن السكن

جولات «نحنا التراث: مرويّات عن السكن» هي جولات استكشافية في أحياء الباشورة والروم/البدوي والطريق الجديدة من بيروت انطلقت كتكملة لدراسات أجراها استديو أشغال عامّة في عدد من أحياء بيروت القديمة عن مشاكل السكن. …

طرابلس: نكبة مشاريع إسكان غير مكتملة

سنة ١٩٧٦، انتقل خالد وعائلته إلى المساكن الشعبية التي شكّلت له ملجأً ومأوىً بعد هربه من مجزرة تلّ الزعتر. نمت عائلته مع الوقت وبغياب قدرته على شراء منزل ثانٍ، أُجبر على الانتقال مرةً …

السكان في مواجهة مشاريع الضم والفرز:

حيّ التنك في الميناء مثالاً

على الرغم من الدور الاقتصادي الذي نتوقّع أن تلعبه طرابلس بالنسبة لكامل شمال لبنان -دور نراه مرتقبٌ مثلاً في مقاربة كل من بعثة إيرفد والخطة الشاملة لترتيب الأراضي اللبنانية- كونها المنفذ لسوريا الداخلية …

طرابلس: من سلب منّا الأرض؟

سنعرض من خلال ثلاث مقالات، موجزاً لكيفية تعاطي السلطات مع طرابلس النهرية وطرابلس البحرية (أي مدينة المينا، كما يسمّيها أهلها)، وتداعيات ذلك على أحيائها من النواحي المدينية والسكنية والبيئية. تستند المقالات إلى ورشة …

أرضٌ وغبار: البحث عن العدالة المكانية تحت أنظمة الاستغلال

هذا المعرض في مركز بيروت للفن، هو أول عرض مؤسسي لاستوديو أشغال عامة. ابتعد الاستوديو عن شكل المعرض التقليدي بأشكاله النهائية، فأنشأه ليكون مشابهاً للسياقات التي يعمل فيها. اشتمل المعرض على مكوّن حي، من …

أيار وحزيران ٢٠٢١

خلال شهري أيّار وحزيران، تابع مرصد السكن ٣٣ حالة تهديد بالسكن، تأثّر بها ١١٠ أشخاص من بينهم ٨ مسنون ومسنّات، ١٤ إمرأة تسكن لوحدها، ٤٣ طفل وطفلة و٣ أشخاص معوّقون. يسكن حوالي ٧٠٪ …